Skip to main content


  • Faculty Premises - Hidellana, Ratnapura
  • Para-Clinical Building - Newtown, Ratnapura


The Faculty of Medicine in Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka is the newest arrival to the chain of Medical Faculties in Sri Lanka. It becomes the eighth Faculty in the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka. The medical profession caters to one of the most crucial needs of the society, therefore, it stands to reason that medical degrees are among the most challenging and competitive paths to embark upon. This Faculty comprises of 15 Departments which are dedicated to achieve all aspects of her academic mission and objectives. The academic elements in the MBBS Degree Program are based on four main disciplinary pillars; theoretical education, clinical care, community engagement and research. The new Faculty buildings and the professorial unit are being constructed at the land adjacent to the Teaching Hospital, Ratnapura, which provides all clinical training facilities for the students.


Dean's Message

"We welcome undergraduates from all around the country and prepare them to be the best and the brightest of the next generation of physicians who are caring, committed and focused on making a difference in the healthcare system in the country. " 

Prof. Sanath P. Lamabadusuriya MBE

Coordinator for Clinical Sciences

Prof. Sanath P. Lamabadusuriya MBE

MBBS (Cey), PhD (London), FRCP (London),
FRCP (Edin), FRCP (Glasg) FRCPCH(UK),

Emeritus Professor of Paediatrics
Consultant Pediatrician

Prof. Nelun De Silva

Coordinator for Para-Clinical Sciences

Prof. Nelun De Silva

MBBS (Patna), Dip Micro (Col), MD Micro (Col)
Professor in Microbiology
Consultant Microbiologist

Prof. Kumudu Wijewardene

MBBS (Col), MD Community Medicine (Col),
Dip Stats. (Belgium), Dip Health Stats. (UK)
Cert Adv. Epid (UK), IPDET
Emeritus Professor in Community Medicine

Prof. Malik Goonewardene

MBBS (Ceylon ), MS Obst / Gyn (Colombo ),
FRCOG ( UK.),  FCOG ( SL) Hony. MGS (Poland)
Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist
Emeritus Professor, University of Ruhuna, Sri Lanka

Prof. Saroj Jayasinghe


Prof. Saroj Jayasinghe

MBBS, MD, MD(Bristol), MRCP(UK)
Consultant Physician
Professor in Clinical Medicine

Dr. M.N.J. Ranjan Dias


Dr. M.N.J.R. Dias

MBBS(Col.), MS(Col.), FRCS(Edin.)
Consultant Peadiatric Surgeon (Honarary)

Latest Updates

News & Events