Skip to main content

About us

Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine in the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka is the newest arrival to the chain of Medical Faculties in Sri Lanka, being the tenth of its kind. It comprises of 15 academic departments to fulfill the requirements of its MBBS degree programme, of which

● Department of Anatomy

● Department of Biochemistry

● Department of Physiology

are currently in operation.It is established in Ratnapura where it will conduct the first year of the degree program at the Batuhena Faculty premises. The new faculty building and the professorial unit are being constructed at the land adjacent to the Provincial General Hospital, Ratnapura that will serve as the teaching hospital for the Faculty of Medicine providing all clinical training facilities for the students. The Faculty accommodates 75 students as its first intake.