Skip to main content

About us

Introduction to the University

Systematic education in Sabaragamuwa province dates back to the times of King Parakramabahu II of the Dambadeniya Period, under whose patronage the Deva Pathiraja Pirivena, a 13th century monastic university, was created in the Palabaddala area of the Ratnapura District. The Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka (SUSL) now stands as the present-day link to such tradition of knowledge and wisdom, which is the 12th national university of contemporary Sri Lanka.