Skip to main content

conferences and work shops

4th International Conference of Agricultural Sciences (AgInsight 2022)

The 4th International Conference of Agricultural Sciences (AgInsight 2022) of Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka, was held successfully on 26th and 27th January 2022 as a virtual conference at the premises of Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka. In keeping with the theme of ‘Empowering Research for Innovative and Sustainable Agriculture’, the conference aimed at bringing researchers, professionals, policy makers and undergraduates to a common platform and disseminate their research findings and scholarly knowledge at an international academic forum intending to broaden international networks while contributing to the national and global development.

Inaugural ceremony of AgInsight 2022, was held on 26th January 2022 with the participation of the Chief Guest, Senior Prof. Sampath Amaratunge, Chairman, University Grants Commission, Sri Lanka, the Guest of Honor, Senior Prof. Chandana P. Udawatta, Vice Chairman, University Grants Commission Sri Lanka, Prof. RMUSK Rathnayake, the Vice Chancellor of Sri Lanka and Prof P.M. Asha Karunaratne, Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences. Distinguish guests representing the Deans of the Faculties, Directors, Administrative officers of the University, academia from other national Universities and the invitees from different industrial entities graced the events. Prof. Andrea Cupp, an eminent scholar from the University of Nebraska conducted the keynote speech title’ ‘Animal Reproduction Innovations to Increase Animal Protein: Genomic Selection, Gene Editing and Donor Spermatogenesis’. Following to the inaugural ceremony, two parallel plenary sessions were conducted representing the disciplines of Agribusiness Management and Livestock Production. Twenty technical sessions were conducted on 27th January 2022 to publish more than 100 extended abstracts covering the thematic areas of ‘Agribusiness and Agricultural Economics’, ‘Agriculture & Agri-environment’ and ‘Livestock and Aquaculture’.


Chairman                     : Prof. RK Mutucumarana

Coordinator                  : Dr. JBDAP Kumara

Secretary                      : Dr. GEM Wimalasiri

Assistant Secretary       : Ms. BMRL Basnayake



3rd International Conference of Agricultural Sciences 2016-AgInsight 2016

The Third International Conference of Agricultural Sciences-AgInsight 2016 was held successfully on 8th and 9th December 2016 at the premises of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka. The theme of the conference was “Power of research: force for tomorrow’s agricultural development”. To achieve this theme, the conference sessions were classified into three thematic areas namely Agriculture and Agri Environment, Agribusiness and Agricultural Economics and Livestock and Aquaculture. The conference was filled with several significant features, and with a large number of participants both local and international. Researchers, experts and newcomers from six countries including Australia, China, Japan, India, Bangladesh and Pakistan, gathered at the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences.

Download Abstract Book


Chairman                     : Professor Rohana P. Mahaliyanaarachchi

Coordinator                  : Dr. GDK Kumara

Deputy Coordinator     : Dr. PKGSS Bandara

Secretary                      : Dr. RK Mutucumarana

Assistant Secretary       : Ms. BCH Madhuwanthi

                                        Ms. MS Elapata

Secretarial Assistance    : Ms. WGI Lakmali

                                         Ms. HGCL Gamage

National Conference on Rural Tourism 2017

Department of Agribusiness Management, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka and the National Productivity Secretariat, Sri Lanka jointly organized a National Conference on Development and Promotion of Home stay and Farm stay funded by the APO. The conference was held on 23rd and 24th February 2017.The conference was chaired by the Professor Rohana P. Mahaliyanaarachchi.