Skip to main content

Office of the Dean

Welcome to the Faculty of Geomatics, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka.

The Faculty of Geomatics was established in 2004 and succeeded the Department of Surveying Sciences, which introduced the BSc in Surveying Sciences degree programme in 1997 as the first such programme under the purview of the University Grants Commission of Sri Lanka.It is dedicated to offering high-quality education and research in the field of geomatics, covering not only traditional land surveying but also the latest spatial information sciences and technologies.

The Faculty offers a four-year degree programme that leads to five specialization schemes, including Surveying and Geodesy, Land Management, Hydrographic Surveying, Remote Sensing, and GIS. The programmes have been accredited by both local and foreign professional institutions, such as RICS, FIG and IBSC-IHO, making the students eligible to become chartered land surveyors in the future.

With highly qualified and experienced academic staff, the Faculty provides quality teaching and research in a state-of-the-art facility equipped with high-tech equipment and laboratories, including Remote Sensing, GIS, Photogrammetry, Hydrography, Geomatics computing, Physics, and Survey Store and Instrumentation.

Over the last decade, the Faculty has achieved remarkable development in both human and physical resources, producing fully fledged professional graduates capable of addressing present and future spatially related problems. The Faculty welcomes all students who are passionate about geomatics and are looking to build a successful career in the field.

Dr. H.Divithure
Faculty of Geomatics