Department of Physical Sciences & Technology


Department of Physical Sciences & Technology conducts degree courses in three major disciplines; namely, Chemical Technology, Applied Physics and Computer Science & Technology. Mathematics, Statistics, and Management Studies, Accounts are conducted as supporting tools for the programme. 

pst-homeStaff of the department consists of one senior professor in Physics, one Professor in Chemistry, two senior lecturers, nine probationary lecturers and two temporary lecturers.

The Department offers four degree programmes namely: B.Sc. (Applied Sciences) Special Degree in Chemical Technology (Duration: 4 years), B.Sc. (Applied Sciences) Special Degree in Computer Science & Technology (Duration: 4 years), B.Sc. (Applied Sciences) Special Degree in Applied Physics (Duration: 4 years) and B.Sc. (Applied Sciences) Degree in Physical Sciences (Duration: 3 years).

All theoretical course units conducted by the department are heavily supported by a practical component which provides the preliminary experience to perform confidently. And also the Mini projects conducted throughout the third and the fourth academic years stimulate the students' creative and innovative thinking. Final year project (research or industrial training) for one entire semester exposes the undergraduates to the working environment and provides hand on experience in industry before the graduation.

Environment in the university and the teaching programmes were all designed in a manner to establish this goal and also to produce specialists in their respective fields. Additionally, it is also creditable that the Department offers the only Degree in Applied Physics in the entire University System in the country