Skip to main content

About Centre for Quality Assurance (CQA)

Centre for Quality Assurance (CQA) of Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka was established in complying with the Commission Circular No. 04/2015 as a coordinated body of University Grants Commission's Quality Assurance and Accreditation Council funded by HETC project: CQA is primarily to safeguard academic standards and quality of higher education qualifications and to inform and encourage continuous improvement in the management of the quality of higher education.

CQA of Sabaragamuwa University oversees quality assurance for all teaching and learning processes, student support and institutional development. CQA ensures that the Sabaragamuwa University operates in conformity with the Sri Lankan Qualification Framework (SLQF) and academic standards and accreditation set forth by Quality Assurance and Accreditation Council of Sri Lanka ( The University’s internal QA processes are complying within the Internal Quality Assurance Policy Framework.

The CQA is headed by a Director, who is guided by the Senate Standing Committee on Quality Assurance (SSC –QA). The SSC –QA is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor of the University, and is constituted as per the guidelines issued by the University Grants Commission in this regard. Faculty level quality assurance activities are managed by the Faculty Quality Assurance Committees of the Faculty Quality Assurance Cells, which were established as per the QA By-Laws.