Skip to main content


By virtue of the powers vested in Lakshman Kiriella, Minister of Higher Education and Highways by Section 27(1) of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission, by the order under the Section 21 of the University Act, published in Gazette Extraordinary No. 896/2 of November 07, 1995 which specifies the Faculties and Departments of the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka, the Faculty of Technology and the corresponding 2 departments in it which are Department of Engineering Technology and Department of Biosystems Technology were legally established.