Skip to main content

Celebrating 25 years of Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka- University Day 2021

Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka celebrated its 25 years of excellence on the propitious day of 2nd February 2021 at Prof. J. W. D. Somasundara Auditorium of the Faculty of Social Sciences & Languages, SUSL on the invitation of Hon. Tikiri Bandara Kobbekaduwa, in the presence of the University community. The University necessarily marked their contribution to the earth by planting trees at Non- Peril premises. 

The Sabaragamuwa University paid its tribute to the renowned artist Ms. Ramya Wanigasekara, for the benevolent service she had made to the country in her field. Meanwhile, the ceremony ran with the sessions of awarding the Best Student of the year 2020 from each faculty who proved their ability in the academic field and of course with staff appraisal in different categories, distinguishing academics, administration, and non-academics who are continuously performing a tremendous service to the University delivering their best towards the betterment of the students. This ceremony further awarded the Best sportsman/woman of the University for making the university proud with their tremendous strength and efforts.

27 Gold medals were awarded to the Best students from each Faculties, meanwhile Mr. R.D.D. Ranathunga and Ms. A.P.M. Subhani Kaushalya Abeyrathan received awards for the Best sportsman and Best sportswoman. Academic, Academic supportive staff and the Non-academic staff of the university who have served the university for 25 years have been appreciated with certificates. Mr. W.A. Jayasena received a Gold medal for 35 years of long service and Dr. J.K.C. Dissanayake, Mrs. K.M. Somawathie, prof. D.M.A. Gunaratne, Mrs. M.R.N.P. Ekanayake, Prof. K.P.L. Nishantha received Bronze Medals for the long services they rendered at SUSL. Mr. K. Sivayesunesan, Mr. W.A. Jayasena, Mrs. S.A.D.H. Miuriyel, Mr. A.M.S. Abeysinghe, Mr. H.M. Jayasena, Mr. W. Ariyadasa, Mr. O.G. Karunarathna, Mrs. P.G. Kusumawathi, Mr. M.N. Premalal, Mr. S.A. Gajaweera, Mr. J.M. Amarasinghe, Mr. E.M.S. Ekanayaka, Mr. M.L.M.S. Chandrasiri were awarded Gold Medal to appreciate their service (Retirement). The best employee award for the year 2020 was awarded to Mr. S.M.D. Bandara of the Faculty of Management Studies. Vice Chancellor’s special appreciation was awarded to Ms. K.M. Somawathie, and Ms. G.D.C.M. Nimalasooriya for their invaluable services.
Best Researcher of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Prof. P.M.A.S. Karunarathna; Best Researcher of the Faculty of Applied Sciences, Prof. S.K. Gunathilaka; Best Researcher of the Faculty of Social Sciences & Languages, Prof. H.M.S. Priyanath; Recipient of Highest Amount of Research Grant of 2020, Prof. D.A.M. De Silva; Most Cited Researcher of the Year 2020, Prof. S.D.A. Sandanayake; Best Researcher (Junior) of the Year 2020, Dr. R.M.K.T. Rathnayake; Best Researcher (Senior) of the Year 2020, Dr. K.R. Koswattage; Most Outstanding Research Scholar of the University, Prof. D.M. Anil Gunarathna were awarded Gold Medals to appreciate their outstanding Research Contribution to the University.