Skip to main content

Department of Medicine

Department of Medicine within the Faculty of Medicine at Sabaragamuwa University currently being planned to establish by year 2020. The Mission of the Department of Medicine is to provide outstanding patient care, high standard medical education, excellence in professionalism in clinical practice.


Medicine department will be established in the professorial unit attached to teaching hospital Rathnapura and the clinical training will be initially held within the main medical units in the teaching hospital Rathnapura. Further to general medicine training students will get training in medical subspecialties including Cardiology, Respiratory medicine, Neurology, Anesthesiology, Oncology, Nephrology, Venereology and Dermatology, encouraging students to achieve carrier fulfilment in general medicine and its subspecialties.


We look forward to changing the practice of disease centered care to patient centered care, with emphasis on improving communication skills, promoting respect of each other and enhancing team work. Continuous learning, innovation, research and audit will be encouraged with in our department