Department of Languages

Department of Languages was established since the inauguration of the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka in 1995. To this day, it remains as one of the prominent Departments of Languages in the State University System in Sri Lanka and offers a wide range of study approaches through theoretical knowledge, language application, and field study, while providing them with opportunities for independent study, supervised research, and practical training.

The Department offers four year Honors and three year General Undergraduate Programs in major and minor streams in Sinhala, Tamil, English, German, Hindi, Japanese, Chinese, and Translation Studies. We are privileged with the service of dynamic local and foreign academics, who are qualified with both local and foreign academic exposure. Our research interests represent the disciplines of language studies, literature, linguistics, cultural studies, translation studies, and pedagogy of foreign language.

Our courses are designed to produce balanced personnel capable of using professional language and appreciating the fascinating aspects of language such as culture, film and literature. They will provide you with an excellent competitive advantage for a range of local and foreign employment, and Postgraduate opportunities. The Department works hand-in-hand with reputed foreign universities in joint academic programmes and scholarship programmes to enhance the quality of the degree programmes.