Conferences and Workshops

iSciTech-2016 was the inaugural event held under the Interdisciplinary Science and Technology Conference (iSciTech) initiative of the Faculty of Applied Sciences, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka organized with the following broad aims and objectives.

  • To foster the development of the Research and Development community at the Faculty by enhancing the collaboration between the academic staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students and other entities towards the establishment of an interdisciplinary research culture.
  • To create a platform for the dissemination of interdisciplinary research findings at the Faculty level and allow other local and foreign researchers to share their research findings and thereby promote and enhance scientific collaborations in their respective disciplines.

The conference was held under the theme ‘Frontiers in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology’ reflecting the current and emerging advances in these disciplines in an interdisciplinary context.

iSciTech-2016 was jointly organized with the Centre for Organic Photonics and Electronics Research (OERA) of the Kyushu University, Japan and the JST-ERATO ADACHI Molecular Exciton Engineering Project, Japan. The keynote speakers and invited speakers represented a wide diversity of research areas in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

Following thematic areas were covered by the conference:

Organic Nanodevices, Nanomaterials, Nanocomposites, Nanobiomedical materials and their applications, Nanodevices for energy conversion and storage and Nanopharmaceuticals and other therapeutic applications

The conference programme consisted of plenary talks/keynote speeches by two eminent scientists, technical sessions featuring invited talks and oral presentations followed by a poster session for graduate/undergraduate students. A panel discussion on the current and emerging trends in Nanoscience and Nanotochnological and their implications for the Sri Lankan scientific community was also conducted


Keynote Speaker

Prof. Chihaya Adachi, Kyushu University, Japan


Plenary and Invited Speakers

Prof. Osamu Ito, Tohoku University, Japan

Prof. Toshinori Matsushima, Kyushu University, Japan

Prof. Hiroyoshi Naito, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan

Prof. B. Jayadevan, Shiga University, Japan

Prof. Jean-Charles Ribierre, Kyushu University, Japan

Prof. Yasuyuki Araki, Tohoku University, Japan

Prof. Anthony D'Aléo, Aix Marseille Université, France

Prof. Ryota Kabe, Kyushu University, Japan

Prof. Fabrice Mathevet, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France

Prof. Taku Hasobe, Keio University. Japan

Dr. Atula S.D. Sandanayaka, Kyushu University, Japan

Dr. Jhon Cuya Huamann Leyman, Shiga University, Japan  

Prof. Xinyu Wang, Wuhan University of Technology, China

Prof. Yingchao Han, Wuhan University of Technology, China

Prof. Gamini Rajapakse, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Prof. K.M. Nalin De Silva, University of Colombo/SLINTEC, Sri Lanka